Information for New Families

Loading from Vimeo...

Welcome to Saddle River Day School!

Congratulations and welcome!  On behalf of the entire school community, I want to assure you that we will work hard to prepare your child for success at SRDS and beyond.

Our goal is to make your transition to SRDS as seamless as possible. Please feel free to contact the Office of Admissions if we can be of assistance.   

Thanks, and welcome again to the Rebel Family!

 

Connect with SRDS

News

Parents Guild

Facebook

Instagram

Summer 2022

Great Classes!

Day Camp

Tennis Lessons

First page of the PDF file: SummerTenniswithCoachAlrutz

Summer Riding

2022-2023 Upcoming Events

*Some dates are subject to change.  

2022-2023 Significant Dates

Congratulations and welcome to the SRDS family!  We look forward to welcoming you back to campus for our spring events!  Please look over the following events we are hosting throughout the spring and click the button below to RSVP.   

Upper School Placement Testing:
Coordinated via appointment with Kris Sweeny - ksweeny@saddleriverday.org 

All-School Art Show
Thursday, May 19th at 6:30 - 9:00 pm
All new families invited
Gym, North Hall

Middle & Upper School New Family Information Session
Thursday, May 19th 6:00 pm (prior to Art Show)
Performing Arts Center, Alford Hall
For students enrolled in grades 5-12

Lower School Activity and New Family Information Session
Friday, May 20th - New K-4th grade students will have an activity from 1:45 - 2:30 pm (either in class or outside)
Information session for parents at 2:00 pm (prior to All School BBQ)
Performing Arts Center
All families are welcome to stay for the BBQ at 3:00 pm

PreK 3 and PreK 4 Meet Up
Friday, May 20th at 2:45 pm
Meet at playground prior to attending All School BBQ

All School BBQ
Friday, May 20th at 3:00 pm
All new families invited
*Please note: grade parents will text new families prior to the event to coordinate a meet up time and location.  Parents Guild will also have a check in table.  Look for current parents with the following lanyards: Green - Lower School; Blue - Middle School; Red - Upper School.  

Middle and Upper School Field Day
Tuesday, May 24th 12:30 - 2:30 pm
For students enrolled for Grades 5-12

MS and US Comedy and Cocktail Night; parents only
Wednesday, June 1st at 6:00 pm
Courtyard
flyer below

Rising 7th and 8th Grade Science Testing
Monday, June 6th at 3:00 pm
RSVP to Kris Sweeny

Lower School Family Picnic; for kids and parents
Monday, June 6th at 5:30 pm
Students in Grades PreK - 4th
Courtyard
flyer below

Click Here to RSVP

Course Selections and Scheduling – Middle and Upper School

The list of assigned classes will be available via email by mid-July, and final schedules will be on the portal in August.  Please contact your respective divisional head if you have questions.

Textbook Ordering – K–12

Once student course selections are determined, families are responsible for ordering textbooks for courses. For the book list of corresponding textbooks, please refer to the list below during the summer months or contact your respective divisional dean for questions. New York state residents, please contact your local Board of Education to inquire about textbook loan programs.

Parent Portal Login Information - All Grades

Portal login information will be emailed to parents by Deirdre Angrick, Academic Dean, in mid-August.  

Forms and Resources

Uniforms and Athletics

Uniform requirements updated in the spring
updated 5.10.22

Pre-K 3 & 4 Dress Code

Lower School Uniform (K-4)
Middle School Uniform - TBD

Upper School Dress Code - TBD

Athletics Registration and Forms
Rebel Spirit Store & Middle and Upper PE Apparel

Code:  900133117

Important Contacts

Jalaj Desai, Head of School
jdesai@saddleriverday.org

Geoffrey Bowman, Director of Admissions
gbowman@saddleriverday.org

Kris Sweeny, Associate Director of Admissions
ksweeny@saddleriverday.org

Dana Stern, Head of Lower School
dstern@saddleriverday.org

Stasia Kelly, Head of Middle School
akelly@saddleriverday.org

Chris Lebovits, Director of Student Experiences
clebovits@saddleriverday.org

Tony Maccarella, Head of Upper School
tmaccarella@saddleriverday.org

Kate Hoffman, Upper School Assistant
khoffman@saddleriverday.org

Deidre Angrick, Academic Dean
dangrick@saddleriverday.org

Ann Hanna, School Nurse
Ahanna@saddleriverday.org

Laura Hollis, Director of Technology
lhollis@saddleriverday.org

Danny Brown, Athletic Director and Director of Outreach
dbrown@saddleriverday.org

Chris Mathisen, Financial Officer
cmathisen@saddleriverday.org

Gina Brinkman, Bus and Transportation
gbrinkman@saddleriverday.org