At a Glance

2015-2016 Bulletin Magazine

Saddle River Day School, located in the hills of Saddle River, New Jersey, was founded in 1957 and graduated its first senior class in 1960. In 1966 it received accreditation from the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools. In 1976 it was admitted to The Cum Laude Society. Its student body of 300+ boys and girls is drawn from 64 communities in Bergen, Essex and Passaic Counties in New Jersey and Rockland County in New York. Saddle River Day School is composed of three divisions: the Lower Division, the Middle Division and the Upper Division. Saddle River Day School is a non-profit, non-discriminatory, co-educational, college-preparatory independent day school accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools and the State of New Jersey; member of the New Jersey Association of Independent Schools, and the National Association of Independent Schools. Over 60% of SRDS faculty hold advanced degrees.

Our Mission
We inspire each child to achieve personal and academic excellence and to become a caring and ethical contributor to society.
The Core Values of SRDS
Everyone Counts:
At Saddle River Day School, all children and adults matter; their talents and contributions are prized.

Love of Learning:
Saddle River Day School engenders a life-long love of learning in our students with a caring and committed faculty, staff and administration.

Intellectual Risk Taking:
Intellectual risk taking is encouraged and celebrated through a nurturing, intimate environment that ensures the physical and emotional security of each child.
General Information
Admission Standards
Admission is based not only on an applicant's intellectual curiosity and capacity, but also on personal qualities and ability to manage a demanding college preparatory program.

The School Year
The school year is divided into two semesters of two marking periods each. In grades 6-12 a final exam is given in June.

Enrollment and Class Size
Total School Enrollment: 350
Faculty and Administration: 52
Student to Faculty Ratio: 7 to 1 (Grades 6-12); 16 to 1 (Grades 1-5); 14 to 1 (Kindergarten); 10-1 (Pre-K)
Head of School:
Eileen Lambert

Director of Admissions/Financial Aid:
Gretchen Lee

Director of Development:
Seth Marx

Dean of Faculty:

Stacey Giordano

Dean of the Upper Division: 
Douglas McLane

Dean of the Middle Division: 

Joshua Deitch

Dean of the Lower Division: 
Dorothy Fayerweather

Director of Technology:
Laura Hollis

Director of College Counseling:
Karen Ferretti

Athletic Director:
Danny Brown

Financial Officer:
Robert Finkel